Esperanza Cafe

29 Jul

There are days when a large family is something of a trial. And other days, it’s the biggest blessing I know of. Kids are the best for playing with and surprising with fun things. Today, instead of just throwing together a quick lunch, I set up the family room with fake flowers, blankets on the chairs, and jazz music playing on cd, and created the Esperanza cafe, complete with menus offering three drink options, two veggie options, six fruits, three sides, and four different kinds of sandwiches. Their meals also came with a dessert tray with cookies and milk.
The girls were so cute, trying to sit up straight and talk with proper voices, and the comment cards they filled out afterwards were hilarious. They read as follows (spelling and all):

“Expliance*: I really like allof the food. We wil come again somtime soon. Thank you for the terrific lunch. Sincerily,”
*Translation: Experience

“Expliens*: 1) I like the P.B.J and the Bastels
2)The Nectorino was ok
3) The vegitels were really jummy upset the brocaly smelled like fish.
Thank you for inviting me to the resturant. I love you.”
*Translation: Experience: I like the pb and j and the pretzels. the nectarine was ok. the vegetables were really yummy except the broccoli smelled like fish.

All in all I think I have two satisfied customers — maybe someday I can run a real cafe! Now on to the next item on the fungenda: mystery beach party

Leave a comment